About The University Of Saint Francis

The Tradition

The University of Saint Francis was founded in 1890, in Lafayette, Indiana, and has a rich heritage of offering quality education. The University of Saint Francis is a Catholic, Franciscan-sponsored, coeducational university in the liberal arts tradition.

Academic Calendar

Fall and Spring semesters, Summer Sessions.


The University of Saint Francis campus has 72 acres of rolling lawns and tree lined pathways surrounding a central lake, Mirror Lake. There are 18 buildings, including three residence halls, an athletic facility and the Campus Ministry Center.


Our current enrollment is approximately 1,880 students, including approximately 230 graduate students. More than half the students are women, and approximately 19 percent of full-time undergraduate students live on campus. The majority of students are from Indiana, Michigan, Illinois, and Ohio, with students from many other states and foreign countries. Students represent many religious faiths, philosophies and ethnic backgrounds.

Financial Aid

More than 95 percent of University of Saint Francis students receive financial aid. Students receive assistance from federal, state and university sources in the form of grants, loans and scholarships.


The University of Saint Francis is accredited by the Higher Learning Commission of the North Central Association of Colleges and Schools.

In addition to this institutional accreditation, the following academic areas have obtained specialty accreditation:

Creative Arts National Association of Schools of Art and Design

Education Indiana State Board of Education
National Council for the Accreditation of Teacher Education

Nursing National League for Nursing Accrediting Commission
Indiana State Board of Nursing
Commission on Collegiate Nursing Education

Physical Therapist Commission on Accreditation in
Assistant Studies Physical Therapy Education

Physician Assistant Accreditation Review Commission on
Studies Education for the Physician Assistant

Radiologic Technology Joint Review Committee on Education in Radiologic Technology

Social Work Council of Social Work Education

Surgical Technology Commission on Accreditation of Allied Health Education Programs